While Missouri has some of the most lenient gun laws in the United States, breaking what firearm and weapon laws that are currently in place can result in serious criminal charges. Living in a gun friendly state means that as citizens we need to arm ourselves with current firearm information to stay on the right side of the law. If your facing charges for unlawful possession of a firearm or unlawful discharge of a firearm, it’s vital that you discuss your case with a Missouri criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
Below, you’ll find information regarding Missouri’s gun laws, along with the repercussions for breaking these laws.
Missouri Gun Ownership Requirements
As mentioned above, Missouri is one of the more lax states when it comes to gun laws. According to Guns To Carry in order to purchase a firearm in Missouri*, you must meet the following requirements:
- Must be at least 19 years old.
- Citizen or resident of the United States.
- Resident of Missouri.
- Have taken a firearms training course.
- Have not been convicted or plead guilty for a felony charge.
- You are not a fugitive or charged with any crime punishable by more than one year.
- You have not plead guilty or been convicted of a misdemeanor such as a crime of violence, driving while under the influence, or possession of a controlled substance within the last 5 years.
- Have not been judged mentally incompetent.
- Do not have a dishonorable discharge from the armed forces of the United States.
As of January 2017, residents of Missouri are no longer required to have a permit to carry a concealed firearm, as long as they meet the above requirements.
Missouri Gun Laws
Unlawful use of weapons can be found 571.070 (Chapter 571) in the Missouri Revised Statute. The law states that a person is guilty of unlawful possession of a firearm in Missouri and will be charged with a Class C felony if he or she:
- Has been convicted of a felony under Missouri law, or another crime in the United States that if committed in this state would be considered a felony.
- Is a fugitive from justice, or in a habitually intoxicated or drugged condition, or is found to be mentally incompetent.
Each of these crimes is punishable by a prison term of no more than 7 years and a fine of $5000.
Under section 571.020, of the Missouri Revised Statute, a person is guilty of committing a Class C felony if he or she possesses, sells, repairs, manufacturers, or transports the following:
- An explosive weapon;
- An explosive, an incendiary, or a poison substance with the intention of manufacturing or selling an explosive weapon;
- A gas gun
- Any bullet or projectile that detonates or explodes on impact due to an independent explosive charge.
The following items are a violation of federal law:
- A machine gun
- Any short-barreled shotgun or rifle.
- A silencer for a firearm
Under section 571.030 of the Missouri Revised Statute, a person is guilty of unlawful use of a weapon if he or she:
- Carries a concealed weapon (firearm or knife) and does not meet Missouri’s firearm ownership requirements.
- Shoots a firearm into any structure where people assemble.
- Displays a deadly weapon in a threatening manner.
- Possessing and negligently handling a lethal weapon while intoxicated.
- Shoots a firearm within 100 years of an occupied court, church or school.
- Shoots a firearm along or across a public highway.
- Carries a firearm into a church where people are gathered, into a precinct on election day, or into any government building.
- Shoots a firearm at a person or structure while in a moving vehicle.
- Takes a firearm into a school building or other school sanctioned facility.
Unlawful use of firearms is considered a Class D felony and is punishable by up to 1 year in Jail or 4 years in prison with fines of no more than $5000.
If you are facing firearm offense charges in Missouri, you need to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney at Missouri Legal. In addition to losing your gun ownership rights, being convicted of a unlawful firearm offense, will limit your chances of getting a home or car loan and finding adequate paying jobs. finding adequate employment. When you schedule a free consultation with us, we will work with you to provide the best possible outcome. We will advise you on how to proceed with your case, as well as defend your constitutional right to bear arms.
* Gun shop owners are not required by the state to have a license, register their guns, report lost or stolen guns, or limit the amount a person can buy at one time. Additionally, private gun shop owners are not required to run a background check on the person buying the firearm.